All Trinity Reads

ALL TRINITY READS IS BACK!

This fall, the All Trinity Reads program will once again be offered.  Over the course of the coming months, there will be eleven different reading groups that will convene on different days, at different times, and in different places; each group will meet for a total of no more than five or six weeks. Everyone is invited to take part in one or another of these groups, but space in each group is limited so contact the coordinator(s) of the group you’d like to join as soon as possible (see below for schedules and contact information).

The book we will read this fall is What is Anglicanism? (Morehouse Publishing, 1982) by The Very Reverend Dr. Urban Holmes III (1930-1981).  Holmes was a native of Chapel Hill, NC, and was ordained to the priesthood in 1954.  He is best remembered for his service as Dean of the School of Theology at the University of the South, and also served as Chaplain at both Catawba College and Louisiana State University and as Professor of Pastoral Theology at Nashotah House Theological Seminary.

Holmes’s book is an excellent introduction for those interested in exploring the parameters of Anglicanism, both those who are new to Anglicanism and those who have been Anglicans for some time but who would like to reacquaint themselves with their tradition.  In recent years several circumstances have arisen that invite all Anglicans to reflect on the nature of Anglican faith and practice, and Holmes’s book provides an excellent resource for doing so.  Copies of Holmes’s book can be ordered via Amazon by clicking here.

If you’d like to take part in this season’s All Trinity Reads program, contact one of the group facilitators listed below, or contact Canon Grosso (agrosso@trinitysc.org). The groups are listed chronologically in the order in which they begin (earlier listings begin meeting first, later listings begin meeting later).

Debbie & Ralph Yoho (dwyoho@gmail.com)
2:30 p.m. on Sundays from Sep 8 to Oct 13
3503 Foxhall Rd., Columbia

Doak Wolfe (doakwolfe@aol.com)
5:30 p.m. on Mondays from Sep 16 to Oct 21
2718 Kiawah Ave., Columbia

Betty Hudgens (hudgens3129@gmail.com)
10:00 a.m. on Tuesdays from Sep 17 to Oct 22
3419 Wilmot Ave., Columbia

Lois & Bob Rimbo (rrimbo@gmail.com)
10:30 a.m. on Tuesdays from Sep 17 to Oct 22
705 Coriander Rd., Blythewood

Walker McKay (walker@walkermckay.com)
7:30 a.m. on Wednesdays from Sep 18 to Oct 23
Conference Room, 2144 Sumter St., Columbia

Sallie Guess (sjguess@bellsouth.net) & Shirley Kuiper (shirleykpr@gmail.com)
12:00 p.m. on Thursdays from Sep 19 to Oct 24
Daughters of the Holy Cross Room, Trinity Cathedral

Bill Beckham (bill.beckham949@gmail.com)
6:30 p.m. on Thursdays from Sep 19 to Nov 7
Bridgepoint Condos, 100 Sunset Blvd., West Columbia

Walter Edgar (walterbedgar@gmail.com)
5:30 p.m. on Mondays from Sep 23 to Oct 28
Stirling Room, Trinity Cathedral

Susie & Charles Dibble (scdibble@gmail.com)
6:30 p.m. on Tuesdays from Sep 24 to Oct 22
914 Gregg St., Columbia

Wallis & Todd Bond (wallis.bond@gmail.com)
6:30 p.m. on Sundays from Sep 29 to Nov 3
2710 Canterbury Rd., Columbia

Jim Rogers (jim.rogers@nelsonmullins.com)
7:30 a.m. on Tuesdays from Oct 8 to Nov 12
Nelson Mullins, 1320 Main St., Columbia